Philippine Consulate General in Saipan > Consulate >> About the Office

About the Office

About the Consulate General

History of the Philippine Consulate General in Saipan

The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) is a self-governing unincorporated territory of the United States. Under its 1976 Covenant to establish a Commonwealth in political union with the United States, the CNMI has until recently had sole authority over its own labor and immigration policy. The CNMI lost the privilege of setting its own minimum wage and labor policies with the enactment of the federal minimum wage increase law that took effect on 25 July 2007. CNMI immigration policy was  federalized under the Consolidated Natural Resources Act (CNRA or P.L. 110-229, otherwise known as the “federalization law), which took effect in the CNMI on 28 November 2009.

The need for a Philippine Consulate in Saipan even before the onset of federalization arose during the heyday of the garments and tourism industries in the CNMI in the mid- to late 1980s, during which an ever-increasing number of Filipino workers entered the CNMI to assist its construction development and tourism industries.

At one time, there were as much as 27,000 Overseas Filipino Workers in the CNMI (although there are unconfirmed estimates as high as 35,000). Following negotiations between the government of the CNMI and the Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs, the Philippine Consulate in Saipan was established on 3 March 1989.  The Consulate was upgraded to a Consulate General in June 2001.

The following have served as Consuls General: Julia C. Heidemann (1 June 2001  to 30 May 2003); Wilfredo DL Maximo (24 June 2003 to 24 June 2009; Medardo G. Macaraig (26 July 2009 to the present).

The Acting Principal Officers were: Julius D. Torres (3 March 1989-1993); Renato T. Villapando (1 June 1993-1995); Generoso G. Calonge (13 September 1995-26 January 1997); Julia C. Heidemann (27 January 1997-31 May 2001) Wenceslao G. Gayola (31 May 2003-23 June 2003) Belinda M. Ante (June 25-July 25, 2009).

The Consul General has jurisdiction over The Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan, Tinian, Rota and the Northern Islands).

About the Consul General

Mr. MEDARDO G. MACARAIG assumed his duties as Consul General in Saipan, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands on July 26, 2009.

He joined the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) on February 6, 1995.

At the DFA, he served as Conference Officer of the APEC-National Organizing Commission-Executive Committee (APEC-NOC-EC) from 20 November 1995 to 19 December 1996; and as Acting Director of the Property, Maintenance and Transportation Division (PMTD) from 20 December 1996 to 29 August 1999.

From September 12, 2005 until his assignment to the Philippine Consulate General in Saipan, he served the Department of Foreign Affairs as Executive Director of the Office of Personnel and Administrative Services.

In the Foreign Service, he also served as Third Secretary and Vice Consul and later as Second Secretary and Consul at the Philippine Embassy in Ottawa, Canada from 30 August 1999 to 30 August 2005.

Prior to joining the DFA, he also served at the Metropolitan Manila Commission (later renamed the Metropolitan Manila Authority) from May 1985 to February 5, 1995.

Mr. Macaraig obtained in 1984 a Bachelor of Science in Architecture degree from the University of the Philippines in Diliman, Quezon City.

He is married to Teresa Roselyn S. Macaraig. They have two daughters, Anna Patricia and Raissa Marie.


         The Marianas Business Plaza in Susupe, Saipan, CNMI.

Address: Fifth Floor, Marianas Business Plaza, Susupe
P.O. Box 500731 CK, Saipan MP 96950
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)
Jurisdiction: Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Tel. No.: (1-670) 234-1848; 234-1850;  Fax No. (1-670)234-1849
Working Hours:

Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., no lunch break.

The office is also open one Saturday or one Sunday every month.  The schedules of these weekend services are announced separately in this website.

Nationals Holidays Observed by Host Country, CY 2012

January 2 (Mon) New Year’s Day
January 16 (Mon) Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (3rd Monday of January)
February 20 (Mon) President’s Day (3rd Monday of February)
March 24 (Fri) Commonwealth Covenant Day
April 6 (Fri) Good Friday
May 28 (Mon) Memorial Day
July 4 (Wed) Liberation Day/ US Independence Day
September 3 (Mon) Labor Day
October 8 (Mon) Commonwealth Cultural Day (2nd Monday of October)
November 4 (Thurs) Citizenship Day
November 11 (Thurs) Veteran’s Day
November 22 (Thurs) Thanksgiving Day (4th Thursday of November)
December 8 (Fri) Constitution Day
December 25 (Tue) Christmas Day


DIRECTORY OF PERSONNEL (as of December 2011)

MACARAIG, Medardo Antonio G.
Consul General (Career Minister)
ANTE, Belinda M.
Consul (Career Minister)
Administrative Officer
Consular Assistant
DEAN, Liza L.
Collecting Officer and Consular Clerk
MIRANDA, Dyan Kristine B.
Consular Assistant, Property Officer and Legal Officer
TOLOSA, Rowena G.
Finance Officer
Consular Assistant and ATN Officer

ARCE, Lauren S.
Secretary to the Consul General, Protocol Officer,
Records and Communications Officer

Consular Assistant and Cultural Officer
DAVID, Antonio R.
Consular Clerk
PAGARAO, Amelito Q..


Ground Floor, Marianas Business Plaza, Susupe
P.O. Box 504834 CK, Saipan MP 96950
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)

Tel. No.: (1-670) 235-3411 Fax No.: (1-670) 235-3412
OWWA Tel. No.: (1-670) 235-6992

Working Hours:  Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m., no lunch break
                          Saturday, 9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

VELASQUEZ, Carmelina F.
Labor Representative
OWWA Welfare Officer





OCA, Remily, D.
Administrative Staff, POLO
Administrative Staff I, OWWA



CNMI Office of the Governor

Congressman Gregorio “Kilili” Camacho Sablan, NMI representative

Marianas Visitors Authority website

DOI Office of Insular Affairs CNMI

The CNMI Guide

Marianas Variety

Saipan Tribune